Transition Stroud Council 2

Transition Stroud Council (TSC) is the body that has responsibility for any central decision making on behalf of Transition Stroud.

This includes:Deal_Transition_group_meeting

  • strategic decisions
  • future development
  • internal communications
  • co-ordination and
  • any legal/partnership issues
  • overseeing the role of any posts

The TSC came into being at the beginning of 2009 following a 9 month consultation process facilitated by the Co-coordinator Support Group. (See final report of this consultation).

While the Working Groups can make autonomous decisions, it was recognised that some central forum, the TSC, was required for overall strategy, planning and consistency.

It was agreed that each Working Group would send a nominated representative to the TSC. The representative need not necessarily be the group co-ordinator but there must be reasonable continuity of representation, with each nomination to stand for 6 months.

Voting rights in the TSC will be limited to those who have been nominated. Other TS members* and representatives of affiliated organisations may attend as observers but may speak only at the discretion of the chair and speaking rights should normally sought from the chair prior to each meeting.

The TSC agenda is to be circulated in advance to all TS members, who can submit comments via their group representative or via the TSC Co-ordinator.

In addition to the TSC there will be open meetings for all TS members at least once every 6 – 12 months. Agendas for these will be open to requests from members but functions would be to celebrate our successes, consider any upcoming strategic issues before the TSC needs to make a decision on them, and to review draft proposals from the TSC.

Transition Stroud Council Meeting

We hold monthly Council meetings at the Exchange in Brick Row, Stroud GL5 1DF. For details of future meeting dates see our Events page.

Everyone is welcome to participate in Council Meetings.  Directors will vote on issues that affect the running and future direction of the organisation. People speak with permission of the Chair and everyone’s views will be taken into consideration

Current directors (2011-12):

Simon Allen
Martin Whiteside
James Beecher
Molly Scott-Cato
John Meadley
Gail Bradbrook
Nigel Westaway
Erik Wilkinson
Helen Royall

Transition Stroud ‘members’ are like shareholders – they have voting rights and can call EGM’s etc, but don’t have shares. They have undertaken in the event of a wind up of TS to pick up any liabilities to the extent of £1 per Member. Our policy is not to expand the number of members, and Transition Stroud does not have a membership scheme. Instead anyone is welcome to become involved in Transition Stroud at whatever level they like. See our Get Involved pages for more details.

Current Members are:

Chris Harmer
Clare Sheridan
Corin Hughes
Emily Smith
Erik Wilkinson
Gail Bradbrook
Helen Pitel
Helen Royall
John Meadley
Julia Lawrence
Liz Hillary
Martin Whiteside
Mike Jones
Nigel Westaway
Paul Sheridan
Philip Booth
Simon Allen
Tara Downs